Can I receive services even if the rape isn’t reported to the police?

Yes. STSM does not require people to report their assault if they are over the age of 18. The staff and counselors are here to serve you and give you the information you need to make a decision as to whether reporting to law enforcement is the correct move for you. However, STSM counselors are mandated reporters meaning if the assault involves a child (under 18 years of age) or vulnerable adult we will have to report it to the appropriate authorities.

Another option is Anonymous Reporting. In South Carolina, Anonymous Reporting is the collection of forensic evidence but no official report is made to law enforcement. The forensic evidence is kept for at least one year in case the survivor decides to make an official report with accompanying evidence.  However, there is no statue of limitation of sexual assault, meaning you can decide to make an official report to law enforcement at any time. For more information on Anonymous Reporting in South Carolina, click here.  

If you or someone you know is a survivor of sexual assault, contact STSM at (803) 790-8208 or our 24 hour crisis hotline at (803) 771-7273.